Investigating towards Botley

DCIM102GOPRO

Looking down the Hamble River from near Long Copse

One of the many things that I have enjoyed about paddleboarding is the feeling that I am exploring and discovering new things.  Due to family commitments, I am normally out paddling when others wouldn’t even consider going out.  Sunday was a case in point.  I managed to get out onto the water by about 1030 – probably a little early for some.  Additionally, the tide was going to be in full flow when I wanted to turn to come back towards Eastlands.  On the way up that Hamble, I saw a grand total of 1 person out on the water.  Combining this and the beautiful weather made this a fantastic paddle.

I wanted to try and get up to Botley but I knew that time would be tight.  I had to be back home by about 1230 but I set off with the intention of turning back for home after about 40 minutes.  With the tide and a slight breeze with me on the way up the river, I made good time.  Sadly though, with the tide still rising, I had to turn for home.  I was still about 1 km short of Botley but I saw some great sights.  In the branches of the Hamble you find these huge reed banks.  It feel almost like something out of Apocalypse Now!

The paddle back was a bit of a slog against the tide but still enjoyable.  On the way back though, there were lots of people out on the water.  There were two large flotillas of kayaks (must have been about 20 each) and a few powered boats.

I try and take learning points from my journeys on the water and this was no exception:

  • Lesson 1 – If something is not tied to you or stuck down, you are liable to lose it over the side.  In this case a small nut that holds the Go Pro camera
  • Lesson 2 – Paddles are fragile and should not be leant on when getting off the board.  Only a scuff on the bottom for the blade but annoying nonetheless.
DCIM102GOPRO

Looking up the Hamble River near Pinkmead Copse

Hopefully I’ll have another, more tide friendly, opportunity to paddle up to Botley soon.  I’m already thinking of new journeys.  Two journeys are looking quite interesting; across to the Isle of Wight and across to Calshot.  Both will need to have good planning and friendly tides!

Leave a comment